DAY 2: AUGUST 6TH (PART 2)

Welcome to Part 2 of my second day at the MIM Summer Program. Besides discussing the human body systems, we meet people in the medical field. The first person we met was Dr. Jeffrey. Besides being a physician, he is also a lawyer. I found that pretty cool. He encourages us to try two things and to always help people. I believed right now he helps medical students with their MCAT’s and applying to medical school. Another person we meet was a medical student whose named was Victor. He talked about his life and what made him want to pursue a career in the medical field. The third person we met Dr. Lisa Cabral who is an ER doctor at Montefiore Hospital, She showed us common cases that she sees in the ER. During the presentation, she showed us pictures ( pretty graphic) and explain some of cases. Besides meeting people in the medical field I also learn about this website called medlineplus.gov, that thought me about medical words. They instructed me on how to pronounce these words and break down the words. I also learned about the root words for the heart, head, and digestive organs. In addition, I learned about new diseases and infections. However, things got a little fun when I was able to make my own animated video. As the MIM staff calls it our GOanimate videos. My first video talk about a guy making a decision to choose his girlfriend and giving up smoking or continue smoking and have no girlfriend. You’ll have to watch the video to see what happens.

Leave a comment